WHEN DID YOU STOP DANCING?

“In many shamanic societies, if you came to a shaman or medicine person complaining of being disheartened, dispirited, or depressed, they would ask one of four questions:

When did you stop Dancing?

When did you stop Singing?

When did you stop being enchanted by Stories?

When did you stop finding comfort in the sweet territory of Silence?

Dancing, singing, storytelling, and silence are the four universal healing salves and where we have stopped them is where we have experienced the loss of soul.” ~ Gabrielle Roth

I love the above quote which particularly resonates with me as I haven’t been doing much of the above, particularly the dancing and singing bit.

“I would take the stars out of the sky for you.” The Real Thing

On New Year’s Eve I came across The Real Thing. I kept replaying this video; replay after replay. So much so, I did give some thought to a possible calling of an Extraordinary General Meeting from the residents to discuss my removal, however quickly dismissed that in my belief that how can you not dance to this music? So, it’s become a theme dance song for me and I’ve had many great moments doing so  (… ok, I understand … you don’t have to follow me.).

So, the wondrous thing for me this afternoon? The instant I posted the Gabrielle Roth’s quote on my Facebook page, I heard The Real Thing’s You To Me Are Everything on the radio. Synchronicity.

And the magic continues. That’s for another post. Right now I’m enjoying the music and inspiration of Gabrielle Roth as you all must do!

When did you stop singing?

PS:  Happy New Year! post coming soon

This entry was posted in Creativity, Healing, Meditation, Music, Nature, Poetry, Relaxation, Social Media, Synchronicity, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to WHEN DID YOU STOP DANCING?

  1. jo says:

    lovely reminder…thanks as always…

  2. ambradambra says:

    That song is such an earworm. Dammit. And spooky that it should come on the radio when you were thinking about it.

  3. pixelrites says:

    Earworm … I know!

  4. adriana says:

    mmm… satin!
    Gabrielle Roth was a really intriguing woman. I went up state NY to do a bit of soul shaking with her and her tribe. It was a beautiful experience! We danced, we sang, we told storied but above all we unleashed our spirit.. nice!

  5. pixelrites says:

    Wow – sounds like a beautiful experience A – one of many for you! BTW I love your Blog wallpaper

  6. Somehow I missed seeing this beautiful post when it first went up. And, of course, that is a good thing because i really needed the reminder NOW. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

  7. Wonderful message…I never stop singing from my heart each day. I never stop dancing within my spirits heart, I meditate on life in the silence of His love and grace, and i never stop writing and sharing the love he gives through the words He pours in my mind! God bless!

  8. pixelrites says:

    Sounds wonderful! Thank You!

  9. tinafriesen says:

    Thank you for the music. It brightened my day!

Leave a Reply

