THE “HOMING INSTINCT IN BOOKS” CONTINUED

It’s another winter windy evening and I’m heading back to The Judith Wright Room to hear Walter Mason.  More on that later.  I want to continue with my experience of the   “homing instinct in books” as discussed in my last blog (and the comments)  Pomegranates, Honey and Books that Never End.

Whilst waiting for the lecture to commence I sit on a sofa in the hallway.  Next to me is a shelf with books for sale, for a gold coin donation.  The first book I pick up is John Menadue‘s Things You Learn Along the Way.   Ok – here’s the synchronicity.  I had worked briefly for John as an admin whilst he was consulting in a law firm many years ago.  I flicked through the pages and came to the end of the book, the very end.  John Menadue quotes T S Eliot.

“We shall not cease from exploration

And the end of all our exploring

Will be to arrive where we started

And know the place for the first time.”

So, what’s the connection and why the “homing instinct in books”?  Briefly,  Love & Hunger by Charlotte Wood was the last book I had read, only hours earlier.  The book had me thinking of  T S Eliot following it’s chapter entitled “Do I Dare to Eat a Peach”, referring to The Love Song of J Alfred Prufrock.  My only memories of dear Prufrock were his rolled trousers, growing old and a beach.   And here I now sit still with thoughts of T S Eliot with a book that ends with T S Eliot!

The sheer magic of reading and the synchronicity continued:

I remembered John Menadue’s gracious act of kindness towards me at the time of losing someone close to me and my family:  We received from the Menadue family a beautiful orchid in a pot delivered to our home.  Further, with a sense of wonder I realised the orchid was delivered twenty years ago to the day!  Things never end.

There also seems to be a pattern which goes back to Nature itself and how it nourishes us via our Five Senses – pomegranates, honey, peaches and potatoes and orchids.

As I blog away, I realise that in so doing this kind of writing helps me understand and share the things I learn along the way, the connection to everything and everyone.  Here, now, today I have gratitude to John Menadue and the people I meet along the way and the things I do.

We are drawn to each other as if in a magnetic field.  The most powerful urge within each of us is seeking out for another or the Other and in that way to be complete…”  John Menadue

And so what I imagine we take with us in this ‘magnetic field’ is what we focus on and thus for me its family, books, nature, food, the arts …

Do the things you love to do, draw you to those you love or what you love?  Is it via books, music or other creative pursuits?  I would love to hear.

And off I go in search of my T S Eliot book.

And as I finish this blog I am reminded that the words “homing instinct in books” is from the book The Guernsey Literary & Potato Peel Pie Society and that book is not on my bookshelf.  Maybe it’s with T S Eliot?

A n d   if I don’t press Publish this blog will never end as I am continually dazzled by the synchronicity that continues …  

This entry was posted in Books, Creativity, Judith Wright, Nature, Poetry, Synchronicity, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to THE “HOMING INSTINCT IN BOOKS” CONTINUED

  1. Strange but I have also been thinking a lot about T.S Eliot recently, and specfically that quote! For me it has to do with returning home at the time of death to the deepest part of our minds, and recognizing our true selves for the first time. You have inspired me to dig out my copy of his poetry. A beautiful post.

    • pixelrites says:

      Thank you for your insights. I am still searching for my copy of T S Eliot! I hope to read one of your posts soon; I’ve been visiting your site almost daily in anticipation of more, please. I love your writing.

Leave a Reply

