ON POMEGRANATES, HONEY AND BOOKS THAT NEVER END

Pomegranates

Books that never end.  I refer to books that continue in your stream of consciousness and fall into the activities of your daily life.  Books that somehow flow into the next book you read; no plan, they just do.  Books that inspire you to rekindle a creative pursuit or take up a new one.

Last week I finished reading Travelling with Pomegranates by Sue Monk Kidd and Ann Kidd Taylor.  Sue Monk Kidd is the author of the #1 New York Times Bestseller book The Secret Life of Bees.  Briefly, I loved Travelling with Pomegranates for many reasons:

Journalling and writing

Travelling

Greece, Turkey, Ephesus, Paris

Mother/daughter relationships

Crossroads

Mother Divine awareness

Travelling with Pomegranates had me looking at my old photos of my time in Greece, Turkey & Paris.  I  contemplate a revisit. I think of buying  pomegranates & honey. I am reminded about the power of words & journalling.  Sue Monk Kidd’s quote towards the end  “Listen to your heart, to the voice of your soul. Be true to yourself.” reflects on her journey and her “pure synchronicity” moments.

So I finished Travelling with Pomegranates last week and picked up Love & Hunger by Charlotte Wood.  It was through my trailings on Twitter that I came across these two books; one of the many reasons why I love Twitter.

Like all indulgences, I am reading Love and Hunger  s l o w l y.  You could easily read it in one sitting.  But that would be like preparing a meal that takes you hours and then you sit at the table; eat and leave the table within ten minutes; and then spend hours cleaning up.  I am half way.  I am reclaiming my love for cooking, slowly.  Charlotte Wood also had me sobbing, sobbing on a train, with one of her recollections; and I am not talking about the peeling of onions bit.

Today, I decide to take note of Charlotte Wood’s advice and stock my pantry with a few of her recommended “essentials”.  One of my favourite recipes in the book so far is Pomegranate Honey.  It was when I was writing down the words for my shopping list: pomegranate and then the word honey did the book Travelling with Pomegranates come to my mind.  Pomegranate and honey are symbolic in Travelling with Pomegranates and here I am purchasing the same ingredients from another book.  The oozing of themes, thoughts and traits from one book to another…  I am joyful when this happens; and of course it didn’t just stop with the shopping list:  I was reminded of the synchronicity all day – pomegranates popping up everywhere.

It makes me wonder now what book I will next read.  I am reminded of the following and believe this to be true.

“ I wonder how the book got to Guernsey? Perhaps there is some sort of secret homing instinct in books that brings them to their perfect readers.”  The Guernsey Library & Potato Peel Pie Society.

Have you experienced the “homing instinct in books”?  Have you tried pomegranate with honey?

This entry was posted in Books, Creativity, Nature, Social Media, Synchronicity, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ON POMEGRANATES, HONEY AND BOOKS THAT NEVER END

  1. paintlater says:

    I’m hoping my Betty Churcher book finds its way home from the train I left it on one day.
    I’ve tried persimmon and honey and that was magical – I find i always want to draw pomegranates and never end up eating them- looks like the challenge is on.

  2. pixelrites says:

    I look forward to your pomegranate drawings. Persimmon & honey does sound magical however pomegranates and honey divine! The Notebook by Betty Churcher? Looks great; I may be able to pick that up on my journeys …

  3. Your mention of the “homing instinct of books” really struct a chord with me and has sent me scurrying to my personal library to reread a group of books that came to me in a very special way. Some years ago I was hunting through a second-hand book shop and came upon a book on one of my passions – Early English. When I went to pay for the book, the lady at the counter asked casually if I would be interested in other similar books as a whole box of books on that subject had been dropped off at the shop some time ago but she hadn’t put them on display as she didn’t think they would interest many people. She led me to the box in the shop’s back room and I was so overjoyed at the selection that I said I would take them all. When I asked her “how much” she replied “nothing”. She was just glad to have them out of the way. My joy at this free gift was infinitely increased, however, when I got the box home and discovered most of the books featured a stamp inside the covers which read “From the library of Elizabeth Liggins”. This was extraordinary to me as, although I had never met, nor knew anything of that lady, in my last year of Honours study at university I had been awarded the “Elizabeth Liggins Prize in Early English”. The books really had come to the right home.

  4. pixelrites says:

    Thank you for sharing your story. I can well imagine your delight at seeing the stamp inside the covers of the books! Magical. Look forward to reading more from the recipient of the “Elizabeth Liggins Prize in Early English” !

Leave a Reply

