WATCHING THE SUN RISE

I spent a weekend down South, close to the ocean. Glorious. I was up super early this particular morning. I felt compelled to go outside and take a walk on the beach. I grabbed my bag for the essentials; notebook and pen, coins for coffee and mobile phone. I walked out of the Hotel and was greeted by tall pine trees with a shade of pink in the horizon.

Stepping out onto the sand I felt it’s coolness; unlike the warmth of the day before. I’m reminded of Thich Naht Hahn’s quote 

Walk as if you are kissing the Earth

I walked gently on the sand – I relaxed. I then looked up. I could see the pink of the sky. I could see the Sun’s rise. I felt wonder and a certain shock at my own reaction; it was as if I was witnessing the Sun’s rise for the first time! It was silent save for the soothing lapping of waves. I was silent.

1441506_10151988093666108_2112680339_n

I took a few photos. When the light show finished and the Sun settled in its position of golden white light, I looked around somehow expecting thunderous applause from everyone. There was only silence because of course this happens everyday.

As I turned my back to walk towards the cafe nestled on the sand’s edge, I could feel the Sun peering over me and saying I do this everyday. This is what I do. Everyday. I thought about it. Yes Sun you do this everyday and you don’t wait for anything; you don’t expect anything.

At the cafe I ordered my coffee and settled to write my Morning Pages.  I wanted to take another photo of my position here … so I flicked from my blank pages to one of my handwritten pages. Another moment of synchronicity – Ready to take a photo, I looked at the words I had written months earlier – The Sun – “The Sun is the navel chakra of this Universe. It radiates the divine masculine principles onto us.” It’s a Diana Cooper quote.

895b7d6b3847b3f906f956598c35ce06

The cloak of wonder fitted around me more closely and I felt just humbled and grateful for this morning. I could feel my aura fill with brilliant golden light of the Sun.

Have you watched the glorious Sun play it’s light show lately?

This entry was posted in Meditation, Nature, Synchronicity, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to WATCHING THE SUN RISE

  1. This is a beautiful post. Your sense of the Sun peering over you and saying “I do this everyday” is profound and life-affirming. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

