LOVE AND THE LETTER D

Here in Sydney it’s Friday, 15th February. So yesterday, in Sydney, it was Valentine’s Day. It started off appropriately for me when I was on Twitter. The very first Tweet I read was  Emerging Festival’s Tweet:-

What’s your romantic read? [in the office: “Oh, it’s Valentine’s Day? I was going to ask this question to Twitter anyway.”]” . 

My tweet reply was Letter to D by Andre Gorz. The only other response was “Hafiz all the way”.

index

“You gave all of yourself to help me become myself.” Letter to D,  Andre Gorz’s beautiful and heartfelt open love letter to his beloved Dorine.

I go to my book shelf and pull out the little paperback for a re-read. It sits on top of Kahlil Gibran’s The Prophet and Marianne Williamson’s A Return to Love. This day also happens to be our writing group’s first day back in 2013. So in the evening I race into the community centre’s room running five minutes late, although I make it in time for the first writing exercise. It’s what Janet (my teacher) calls the “D string word exercise”. Of course! I had been thinking why my first choice had been the book Letter to D and not Gibran, Hafiz, Poe, Shakespeare … Yes, I am meant to be here; I had been toying with the idea of not having enough time to attend these classes.

The writing exercise was interesting. Janet read out a list of words commencing with the letter D, and our task was to write for fifteen minutes incorporating one or more of the words. Now, I would share my exercise with you here however the words were all rather Depressing and I played with a number of the D words on the “Disappearance of love” – not quite appropriate for Valentine’s Day.

Andre Gorz (born Gerhart Hirsch) commences his story with these words :-

“I need to piece together the story of our love to appreciate its full meaning. It’s what has allowed us to become who we are, living through each other and for each other. I’m writing to you now to understand what my life has been, what our life together has meant.”

So, what’s your romantic read or write?

Thanks, Dianne x

This entry was posted in Books, Poetry, Social Media, Synchronicity, Uncategorized, Words, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to LOVE AND THE LETTER D

  1. “The Lover’ by Margerite Duras. X

  2. I adore The Seat of the Soul by Gary Zukav. Glad you made your writing class. Have a wonderful weekend. xxpeggybraswelldesign.com

  3. bentpeople says:

    The time travellers wife… book, NOT movie.
    love you!

  4. ambradambra says:

    Valentine’s Day gives me HEARTBURN so what better book than Nora Ephron’s namesake?

Leave a Reply

